Re-use or New??

I was talking to an old friend this past weekend about my current sofa. I purchased my “dream” sofa (IKEA Ektorp) a few years back off a Craigslist ad. I sold the current sofa I had, my previous “dream” sofa before I fell in love with IKEA (blue jean sofa). A couple offered me $50 for mine and the couple selling the IKEA one accepted my offer of $50 down from $60. So, I practically scored it for free.

I want to say the sofa is roughly six or seven years old as the older couple had had it for a few years prior. Over the years, the sofa cushions have seen better days and now they are at the point where they need replacement. I replaced one because my dog removed the stuffing during a thunderstorm. Price wise it seemed reasonable at $65. In my conversation with this friend, I mentioned how I would be getting the other two cushions done as well. My friend made the comment as to why I was paying to have them re-done when I can just buy a new one for close to the cost of replacing seeing as after having all three done it will be around $200 and a new sofa costs $399 plus tax.

My thought behind just replacing is that the bones of the sofa are still in excellent condition. Why buy a new sofa that will use many resources to make when I can just fix the cushions and get many more years out of it. And, yes, even though the price difference is only a little more than $200 versus new, there are many other things that I can use that $200 on.

So tell me, would you replace some worn out cushions on a perfectly good sofa with the structure being in excellent condition or would you just buy new??

©Valerie 

Leave a comment