Adieu 2014

A departing toast to 2014

As I sit here and reflect on 2014 with this glass of wine, I come to realize that this past year brought both sadness and happiness.  I am thankful for the blessings that I was given this past year.

I was blessed with a new job and although it is not what I would consider to be my dream career, I love what I do. I am learning so much in this position and for that I am thankful. I still have hope and truly believe that my dream career is still a hop, skip, and jump away and I just need to hop, skip, and jump my way to it.

I was also blessed to have someone enter my life and help me see that although I was not in a Master’s program or teaching yet, I still had fire flowing in my veins. That person brought my writing back to life. {S(h)e} helped me see that writing was what I loved. I needed to bring life to the words I had within me. I needed to bring those words to paper. I also realized that Age is not defining and therefore, whether it be 42 or 82 my Master’s degree and Doctorate are still in my future.

I found my way into my own living space again this year. I will never be able to express my gratitude to my parents for allowing my children and I to live with them for what should have been a year which turned into a nicely rounded five while I went back to school. They believed in me and for that I will be forever grateful to them. In October we moved into our own apartment again. It was nice being within our own walls again, the freedom that comes with it, along with the stress that flourishes each and every month. 🙂

Layla

My heart also encountered moments of sadness this year. My parents dog, Layla passed away in May. It was difficult for my family. It was difficult for me. She was like a part of MY own family, many fond memories with her.

A few years ago, my children and I visited the local AIDS house here in town. My daughter was able to collect a donation of blankets for the in house patients in honor of our Uncle and we had gone one night near Christmas day to deliver them. We met this young gentleman named Joshua. He was so open and friendly and he talked our ears off that night. He enjoyed our blanket gift and I remember he immediately used it. He began to grow on us, so we visited him frequently and would bring him items quite often. At times we would surprise him with some Starbucks iced coffee or Mexican sweet bread. The kids and I would bring him back souvenirs from our family trips because to us he was family. He had once told me how he wished he could feel the sand rub against his feet and fall asleep to the sound of the water breaking. We brought him back a sea shell from our yearly trip to Galveston Beach. I can still vividly see him holding that shell against his ear and the smile that appeared from ear to ear. Joshua passed away this past November…a piece of my heart gone forever.

As I embark into 2015, I hope for great blessings, good health, and that of my children as well as my family. I hope that my words will continue to be read and heard. I hope that sunflowers will continue to bloom.

Welcome to my world 2015!

©Valerie

Leave a Reply

